Ghana & Gabon Joins UN Security Council

Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, and the United Arab Emirates joined the United Nations Security Council on Tuesday, January 04th, formally taking up positions won in a June election last year.

Gabon, Ghana, and the UAE have each served on the council three times.

The 15-member council is the most powerful body in the United Nations. Permanent members with veto power are China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Other members are elected for two-year terms by the 193-member General Assembly, which is divided into worldwide regions.

Kenya, Tunisia, and Niger held the African continent’s non-permanent Security Council seats.

Last year, the presidents of South Africa and Senegal advocated for permanent African participation on the council.

Smaller countries get to share a prominent platform with big powers, and Council members can organise sessions on security subjects of particular concern to them.

Since 1946, more than 50 of the United Nations’ 193 member countries have never been elected to the Security Council.

Source: AfricaNews

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly support TheAfricanDream LLC by disabling your Adblocker. Thank you.