Group stage draw for AFCON Cote d’Ivoire 2023

The draw for the group stage of the postponed 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) was held in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire on Thursday evening, October 12. Twenty teams will be taking part in the competition rescheduled for January 13 – February 11, 2024.

The host, Cote d’Ivoire will play regional rivals Nigeria at the group stage of the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations, Cote d’Ivoire 2023 as the Official Draw set up some tantalising matches following Thursday’s event in Abidjan.

Defending champions Senegal were pitted against Cameroon while record winners Egypt renew hostilities with Ghana after the draw was made.

In a captivating ceremony current and former football superstars, Didier Drogba, Mikel Obi, Sadio Mane and Achraf Hakimi, supported as Draw Assistants for the Final Draw

There will be a West African affair in Group A as hosts Cote d’Ivoire were paired with regional rivals Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea and Guinea-Bissau.

Senegal, who triumphed earlier this year, were drawn in Group C against Cameroon, Guinea and AFCON debutants Gambia in what looks a competitive pool.

Ironically, Senegal meet Cameroon in a friendly in France on Monday as part of their build-up to defend the trophy on Ivorian soil.

Egypt, hunting a record-extending eighth continental crown, will face Ghana in Group B in a repeat of the 2010 final which the Pharaohs won late on. Cape Verde and Mozambique complete the group.

Algeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania and Angola add further star quality to Group D in another exciting pool.

Elsewhere, World Cup semi-finalists Morocco should navigate a comfortable Group F containing DR Congo, Zambia and Tanzania.

Matches will take place at six venues across the country, including newly constructed stadiums in Abidjan, Korhogo and San Pedro.


Group A: Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea Bissau

Group B: Egypt, Ghana, Cape Verde Islands, Mozambique

Group C: Senegal, Cameroon, Guinea, Gambia

Group D: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Mauritania, Angola

Group E: Tunisia, Mali, South Africa, Namibia

Group F: Morocco, DR Congo, Zambia, Tanzania

Source: CAF

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly support TheAfricanDream LLC by disabling your Adblocker. Thank you.