Ghana Inaugurates ‘Beyond The Return’ Steering Committee

The Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Barbara Oteng-Gyasi has inaugurated a Cross-Sectional Steering Committee to work with the Ghana Tourism Authority in the implementation of the “Beyond the Return” project.

BEYOND THE RETURN’ is a follow-up to the successful ‘YEAR OF RETURN, GHANA 2019’ campaign which commemorated the 400 years of the first enslaved Africans arriving in Virginia, USA, spearheaded by the President of the Republic of Ghana, His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo – Addo.

Inaugurating the Committee, the Minister indicated the trust the Ministry had in the team assembled.  The Project Coordinator, Mr. Akwasi Agyeman, CEO of the Ghana Tourism Authority recounted the successes of the “Year of Return” and indicated COVID-19 has provided a new challenge to the implementation of the project but the Authority is poised to work with other stakeholders to ensure success.

Read also: Tourism Minister working to make Year of Return a permanent feature – Nana Addo

BEYOND THE RETURN‘ is based on seven [7] pillars namely, Experience Ghana, Invest in Ghana, Brand Ghana, Celebrate Ghana, Pathway to Ghana, Give Back to Ghana and Improve Tourism and Heritage Assets.

Beyond the Return — Ghana

Representatives from Ten [10] institutions who constitute the Steering Committee would ensure the successful execution of the campaign.

These institutions include the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture, Ghana Tourism Authority, Diaspora Affairs- Office of the President, Ghana Investment Promotion Council, PANAFEST Foundation, African American Association of Ghana [AAAG], Ministry of National Security, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ghana Police Service, and Ghana Immigration Service. The Committee is co-chaired by Lawyer Kwame Boateng, a Board member of Ghana Tourism Authority and Akwasi Awua Ababio of the Office of the Diaspora Affairs, Jubilee House.

Other members are Yofi Grant [GIPC], Dr. Sayibu Pabi [Deputy Commissioner of Police], Khadijah Iddrisu [Ministry of Foreign Affairs], John Agbeko [Chief Director, MOTAC], Dentaa Amoateng, Prof. Esi Sutherland [PANAFEST Foundation], Jessica Ayivor [AAAG], Ekow Sampson [GTA], Ben Anane Nsiah [GTA], Roberta Dawson Amoah [GTA], Lawrence Coffie Azumah [Ministry of National Security], Edith Arhin [Ghana Immigration Service] and Amy Appiah Frimpong [National Theatre].

BEYOND THE RETURN’ is not only to promote tourism but to foster economic relations, trade, and investments from the diaspora in Africa and the world at large.

Source: African Travel Times

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly support TheAfricanDream LLC by disabling your Adblocker. Thank you.