Ghana government shakeup sees Finance Minister & others fired

The President of Ghana, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has undertaken a significant reshuffle of his cabinet, resulting in the dismissal of several ministers and deputies, effective immediately.

In a statement released on Wednesday, February 14, 2024, Eugene Arhin, Director of Communications at the Office of the President, announced the changes, citing the President’s decision to relieve nine ministers and eight deputy ministers of their government portfolios.

The reshuffle also saw the reassignment of four ministers and two deputy ministers to different positions within the administration.

The Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta for instance, will be appointed as the new Senior Presidential Advisor on the economy. He will also serve the president’s special envoy on International investment and the capital markets according to Asaase Radio sources in the Office of the President.

Notable changes include the relocation of Kojo Oppong Nkrumah from the Information Ministry to Works and Housing, and Francis Asenso Boakye from Works and Housing to the Roads and Highways Ministry. Additionally, Interior Minister Ambrose Dery has been transferred to the Office of the President as a Minister of State.

Moreover, Deputy Information Minister, Ms. Fatimatu Abubakar, has been promoted and is now the minister-designate for the Ministry of Information, while Deputy Minister of Energy, Andrew Egyapa Mercer, has been elevated to the position of Tourism, Arts, and Culture Minister-designate.

Dismissed Ministers

Finance Minister –  Ken Ofori-Atta

Health Minister – Kwaku Agyemang-Manu

Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation Minister – Dr. Kwaku Afriyie

Roads and Highways – Kwasi Amoako-Atta

Gender, Children and Social Protection – Lariba Abudu

Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Devt – Dan Botwe

Sanitation and Water Resources – Freda Prempeh

Tourism, Arts and Culture –  Ibrahim Mohammed Awal

Oti Region – Mr. Joseph Makubu

Dismissed Deputy Ministers

Deputy Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development Minister – Collins Ntim Aboagye

Deputy Communications and Digitalisation Minister – Ama Pomaa Boateng

Deputy Health Ministers – Tina Mensah and Mohammed Asei Seini

Deputy Lands and Natural Resources Minister – Benito Owusu Bio

Deputy Fisheries and Aquaculture Development Minister – Moses Anim

Deputy Energy Minister –  William Owuraku Aidoo

Deputy Education Minister – Gifty Twum Ampofo

Deputy Employment and Labour Relations Minister –  Bright Wireko-Brobbey


Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly support TheAfricanDream LLC by disabling your Adblocker. Thank you.