The cost of hosting FIFA World Cup since 1990

With a total of twenty-one competitions since the first World Cup in 1930, eighteen nations have hosted the FIFA World Cup.

A host nation will receive tremendous exposure as a result of hosting the World Cup in terms of tourism, international trade, jobs, and the potential for new development. But there’s a big price to pay for that

Experts have determined that costs depend on stadiums capacity and construction. Countries will no standard stadiums prior to hosting have bigger World Cup budgets.

Below is the list of World Cup host countries and their costs since 1990:

Italy World Cup 1990 ($4 billion)

12 cities were choosen for the 1990 world cup hosting by the Italian football federation. Tournament began on 8th June and final played on 8th July 1990. West Germany become the champions while Argentina finished as runner-ups in the competition.

Italy 1990 World Cup Hosting Cost

Overall tournament cost Italy worth of $4 billion and with a massive profit for Italy, made from the tickets sales, hotel business and fashion.

USA World Cup 1994 ($500 million)

After 4 years, the hosting of the world cup move to United States in 1994. In June 18, 1994 the event began with the match between United States and Switzerland.

Brazil become the champions, while former hosts of the World Cup Italy finished runner-ups. Overall, event and management of USA World Cup 1994 cost $500m.

France World Cup 1998 ($2.33 billion)

France in 1998 was both the World Cup host country and champion after defeating Brazil in the final. All matches were played in 10 different stadiums that were adjusted for the World Cup.

Fifa World Cup 1998 Cost of Hosting

After watching huge increase in the ticket sales, French football federation, made changes to hotels, fans staying, and cultural activities. It footed a $2.33 billion budget for the development of stadiums and seating capacity.

Korea & Japan World Cup 2002 ($7 Billion)

South Korea and Japan stepped forward and earned the rights to host the Fifa World Cup. According to reports, the event cost more than $7 billion for the construction of new stadiums before the cup.

However, a huge profit was made by both football federations following enormous support from local fans. The tournament was won by Brazil.

Germany World Cup 2006 ($4.6 billion)

Just with 1 voting difference, South Africa lost the hosting rights to Germany for 2006 world cup.

Germany already held a strong football league (Bundesliga) and did not require a bigger budget to host the event in 12 different venues in the country. Italy become the new champions, lifting the trophy after defeating France in the finals.

South Africa World Cup 2010 ($3.6 billion)

After a four-year wait, South Africa tried another luck at hosting World Cup in 2010 and won the rights.

South Africa World Cup 2010 Hosting Rights

South Africa football federation invested more than $3.6 billion to host the event in 9 cities. Spain became the champions for the first time after defeating Netherlands in the final.

Brazil World Cup 2014 ($15 billion)

Brazil won the hosting rights ahead of two other bidders —Argentina and Colombia, for the 2014 FIFA World Cup .

Brazil World Cup 2014 Cost

According to football sources, the World Cup in 2014, cost more than $15 billion. Germany became champions after defeating Argentina in finals.

Russia World Cup 2018 ($11.6 billion)

Portugal, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium and England competed alongside Russia for World Cup 2018 hosting rights. Russia won with 13 votes.

Russia World Cup 2018 prize Money

The tournament cost Russia more than $11.6 billion. France won the World Cup for the 2nd time since 1998 after defeating Croatia.

Qatar World Cup 2022 ($229 billion)

The Qatari government spent about $229 billion on the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, which takes place from November 20 to December 18, making it the most expensive World Cup ever.

Official logo for the Qatar World Cup 2022

That sum is nearly five times the $48.63 billion that was spent on national soccer competitions from 1990 to 2018 in total. It’s for the first time when World Cup moved from summer to winter season due to weather condition and covid-19.

The next World Cup will be in 2026, and it will be hosted by three countries for the first time ever. Host countries are the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

Source: TotalSportal

READ ALSO: The biggest shocks in World Cup history

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Kindly support TheAfricanDream LLC by disabling your Adblocker. Thank you.